Monday, February 25, 2013

Book Review: Lost and Found

I think Lost and Found by Andrew Clements is a 5 star book.After I pick up the book I can’t put the book back down.

Two twin brothers are moving so they have to go to a new school. Then they have a crazy thought. After Jay stays home sick on the first day of school. On the second day of school, Jay feels better then pretends to to be Ray Grayson and Ray pretends to be Jay Grayson then the to Grayson twins take turns going to school.Then they realized they could not do this all year. So then they said to each other they will tell everyone on Friday, but Ray told Melissa (someone in his class) then she told someone and that someone told someone and so on. Read Lost and Found to find out what happens.

Fun Fact: Ray’s full name is Ray Jay Grayson and Jay’s full name is Jay Ray Grayson since they’re twins.

Monday, February 18, 2013

Book Review: The Red Pyrmid

     The Red Pyramid is the first book in the Kane Chronicles series. The author is Rick Riordan. Rick Riordan is also the author of the Heroes of Olympus series and the New York Times #1 best-selling series Percy Jackson and the Olympians. The genre of The Red Pyramid is mythology. The Red Pyramid is very suspenseful and adventurous.
     On Christmas Eve [One of the two times a year Carter Kane and his dad Dr. Julius Kane gets to see his younger sister Sadie Kane] they all go to a museum in London. Their dad accidentally breaks the one and only Rosetta Stone, their dad also accidentally sets an evil god free along with 4 others, and their dad gets trapped in an ancient Egyptian sarcophagus. Can Sadie and Carter save their dad and stop the evil god? Read The Red Pyramid to find out!
     Right now there are three books in the Kane Chronicles: The Red PyramidThe Throne of Fire, and The Serpents Shadow. The first book in the Kane Chronicles is The Red Pyramid. The second book in the Kane Chronicles is The Throne of Fire. The third book in the Kane Chronicles is The Serpents Shadow. If you're lucky Rick Riordan will make a fourth book and if you're really lucky he'll make a fifth.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Creating a Logo for a Blog Series

There are some students in our class who do book reviews and interviews for writing time.  They also created their own logos. The reason they wanted to create logos was because of "It's Monday! What Are You Reading?" had a logo and so did "Slice of Life". They thought it would be a good idea to have their own logos for their blog series.  Read this post and you might learn how to make your own logo.

Here is the Book Reviews logo:

We asked him how he came up with the idea.

Q:  What did you make your logo on?
A:  I took a picture of a bookshelf and pasted it on Pages.

Q:  Why did you take a picture of a bookshelf?
A:  I just liked the idea of a bookshelf.

Q:  What does your logo say?
A:  Book Reviews

Here is the logo of a kid who interviews teachers at our school:

Q:  What did you make your logo on?
A:  Pages

Q:  What did you want your logo to look like?
A: Just make it simple.

Q:  What does your logo say?
A:  Teacher Interviews

Here is the logo from the group that is going to interview authors:

Q: What did you make your logo on?
A: Pages

Q:  What's your name on the logo?
A:  T.T.I. (Time to Interview)

Q:  Why is it called that?
A:  We all liked the name.

Q:  How did you want your logo to look?
A:  We wanted to to be simple.

That's our last interview! Check out our blog for these logos and blog series posts!

Monday, February 11, 2013

The Unforgettable Season

 If you like baseball you will like this book. This book is nonfiction. The book is called The Unforgettable Season by Phil Bildner. But the subtitle is "The Story of Joe Dimaggio,Ted Williams and the Record Setting Summer of 1941". The front cover shows the two players on each side of the book. He writes chapter books, picture books and nonfiction books. One of his chapter books is called Sluggers. He’s coming out with a new teen book.

       The book is about how Joe Dimaggio might make a record  of hitting a ball every game. Also it is about how Ted Williams might break the record for the most batting average. Will they break the records or not?

       I think it was a good book. But someone in my class said “I don’t read a lot of nonfiction and it just caught my eye.” He also said “ It was a really good book.”I  like this book and somebody else likes it. So it has to be good. 

Monday, February 4, 2013

Book Review: The Lightning Thief

     Today I'm reviewing The Lightning Thief. The Lightning Thief is the first book in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series.
      Rick Riordan is also the author of the Heroes of Olympus series and the Kane Chronicles trilogy.
     The genre of The Lightning Thief is mythology.
     Percy isn't a very normal kid. He hasn't lasted at one school for more than a month. He is ADHD and he has dyslexia. Percy can also stay underwater for a long time. His best friend's name is Grover. Then some weird stuff happens: His substitute teacher accuses Percy of stealing some lightning bolt. Then Grover goes over to Percy's house and asks Percy's mom to take him and Percy to a camp for kids with " special abilities." On the way to camp a huge bull thing tries to kill Percy then kidnaps his mom. Then Percy, Grover, and a girl named Annabeth sneak out of camp to save Percy's mom. Can they save Percy's mom and prove Percy innocent? Read The Lightning Thief to find out!
     There are five books in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. The first book is The Lightning Thief. The second book is The Sea of Monsters. The third book is The Titans Curse. The fourth book is The Battle of the Labyrinth. The fifth and final book is The Last Olympian. Rick Riordan will not be writing any more books in this series.